Back to work this week so progress has slowed down.but I have still managed to make quite a bit of progress with my Stamford Bridge scenario. I now have the map just about as I want it prior to playtesting and have also finished the draft orders of battle for both sides.

Setting these up using my new MS Word template certainly makes things a lot easier and quicker. Here is a link to the draft order of battle file with scenario notes,glossary and sources still to be added in.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/54384751/Stamford%20Bridge%201066%20AD%20Draft%20Scenario%20Design%20Notes%20OOB%20%26%20Sources.zip

As you will see my scenario for the battle steps right into the middle of the ongoing Anglo-Saxon cavalry debate. (did they or didn’t they fight on horseback)  In this refight of the battle I have drawn heavily on the work of the American medieval military historian Kelly DeVries, specifically his 1999 work “The Norwegian Invasion of England in 1066” published by Boydell Press, ISBN 1-84383-027-2. In this book drawing heavily on Saga and other sources he makes the case for Harold  fielding a substantial cavalry force at Stamford Bridge and using it to mount a series of attacks on the Viking Shield Wall.

Other sources I am using for my scenario include “1066: The Battles of York, Stamford Bridge and Hastings”  by  Peter Marren, Pen & Sword Books Ltd (6 Jun 2002) and an 11th century map of Norway found at

http://www.google.co.uk/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=mideavel%20norwegian%20maps&source=web&cd=1&sqi=2&ved=0CDEQFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fen.wikipedia.org%2Fwiki%2FHistory_of_Norway&ei=jttAT8W8Jo748QPL-dmDCA&usg=AFQjCNH9zyd5rF4nyIVjAlpo9OVw6x2R6w

for the provincial unit titles of the Leidang Bondi contingents making up King Harald Hardrada’s Norwegian army.




Leave a Reply.